The issues with climate sceptics

4 Jun

OK number 1 reason why there is a problem, is that they are wrong;

This is the kind of statement which will lead to sceptics themselves commenting on this blog and purposely leaving their own scientific
findings for why climate change is a myth/ conspiracy/ fairy-tale.

Of course, they are entitled to their opinion.
I used to be sceptical of Marmite, thinking it was made by the devil; but one day I decided to try it, I didn’t particularly like it, I won’t fight for it but I came to mutual understanding that some people really do care for Marmite and its future.

Anyways I believe the science behind climate change, as scientists are a lot smarter and spend more time studying the facts compared to myself and tons of other people around the globe.

Though, even with B GCSE science & maths grades I can make a perfectly correct climate change equation.

CO2 + atmosphere = OMG

See its really simple – only 23 characters long and made up of 5 words..ish

Or it can be shown via a talking penguin or a funky video

Now look at this

How? What? 4826 words of something or other
+

This is teeth x-rays, right...

Actually its labelled as –
Zonally-averaged distributions of predicted temperature change in ºK at CO2 doubling (2xCO2 – control), as a function of latitude and pressure level, for four general-circulation models (Lee et al., 2007).

????

Now why can’t the sceptics shorting this whole argument to a few words or a Marmite metaphor or art?

And that’s they problem, along with other conspiracy theories
http://www.elvis-is-alive.com/
http://www.ufos-aliens.co.uk/cosmicapollo.html

They need to use so many words, use graphs that make sense to no one, unless they are on hand to explain and they need to look at so many out-of-this-world tiny details that our brains become fuzzy.

So much so that Climate Change for all its future horror is just a more simply idea to digest, even if some do not rate it high on there agenda.

And if you dare to look at this video involving Lord Monckton, just concentrate on the audience, how old are they?

Competition Time: If a climate sceptic would like to comment on this, I bet you can not keep their argument under 100 words. (no links) If you are able to, you shall receive a Fairtrade biscuit.

If no climate sceptic can, then I guess you will just have to suffer the fact that those who believe in climate change are able to use more persuasive arsenal like art, humour and simply terms to justify their thoughts and are also going to outlive most of your OAP followers.

Tough break.

2 Responses to “The issues with climate sceptics”

  1. CM August 3, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    Your ageist wisecracks about Sceptics being OAPs is neither clever nor funny. I’m, approaching my 60s and spend a lot of time explaining climate change to non-scientists.

    Many of those are senior decision makers – the very people who can (and do) make their organisations begin to combat climate change. So hacking them off by dismissing them as sceptics is not helpful.

    You are correct about one thing – I will be dead before the worst impacts of climate change kicks in. So explain to me again why I should give a rat’s ass about saving the planet for wise guys like yourself, who regard me as a fossil?

  2. unclesi August 3, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    I commend you for telling it straight to those who are yet to understand climate change.
    This post was aimed at climate skeptics who present data that is not peered viewed and the general connections between them – long words, complicated reasoning and an old age following.
    I recently read a post http://www.crikey.com.au/2011/07/20/denniss-my-tactics-for-debating-monckton/ that makes good points on talking to skeptics which I now take on board.
    I may be a wise-ass at the best & worst of times, but I’m learning and growing.

Leave a Reply

